Q&A With Writers of ‘Heathers the Musical’ (Kiahleesi Talks #1)

From 2:00-3:00 today, Kevin Murphy and Laurence O’Keefe answered questions from fans on twittter. The timing could not be less inconvenient for me! I had tests in both of the class periods that fell into the time period. Somehow, miraculously, I was able to ask many (many, many, MANY) questions, and get some answers from the writers of my absolute favourite musical, the newly classified “cult musical” ‘Heathers’.

It was a great experience, thanks to Howl Round. Murphy and O’Keefe were both so nice and honest in their answers

fave 12fave song1fave song 2

casting v

When I asked one of the more pressing questions in the tumblr fandom, the response I got was more than satisfactory!       “Does it bother you that people romanticized JD and his deeds? you know, murdering, bombs, etc?”

O’Keefe: Someone will always romanticized stuff you don’t like. Some romanticized Sweeney Todd’s cannibalism 1/2

Murphy: I separate kid from deeds. JD is a monster. He is a seductive charming monster, but capable of love. Their love is doomed because he IS a monster. He dies so she can live. I find that idea romantic.

K: In the musical, the end between Veronica & JD is tender-er than the movie. why did you decide to go that way?

O’K: ‘Cos the movie was a dark, stiff antidote 4 the 80’s. We tried to the musical an antidote for our dark, stiff times, and one of the best ways to show Veronica winning and being a hero was learning forgiveness.

why heathers2

why heathers 3

why heathers

It was an absolute dream, especially after I decided to drop out of school to star in the musical on broadway. Sigh, this is just a dream because I can’t even fail a test without freaking out. School first, greater things second.

I look forward to speaking with them again sometimes!

Are you a Heathers (movie/musical) fan? Comment below and freak out with me!

One thought on “Q&A With Writers of ‘Heathers the Musical’ (Kiahleesi Talks #1)”

Tell me how much you hated that...

